top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Tie Dye & Shibori

Below are shots of the outcomes from the tie dye and shibori experiment. The shibori (in blue) could have done with an iron for a clean pattern to be detectable, yet I quite liked the texture of the creases in amongst the various shades of the gorgeous blue dye. This unique and wild look was achieved through smocking the fabric first before it was drenched in water and then saturated in the indigo dye. The fabric was of a plain white satin silk that softly glides across the hands and skin. Bold white lines that extend across the silk were due to the addition of rubber bands before it was dipped in dye. Having not done this, would reveal just the result of the print from the smock (maybe the bands were not necessary). It was by far the easiest to manipulate and the indigo dye had no problems in tinting the glistening white, clearly. It was an unnecessarily messy method, but after all, I cannot complain.

While tie dyeing was somewhat fun and messy also, it probably was not worth the attempt as I found it irrelevant to my subject matter but it was something that I wanted to do. After doing it, I now wonder whether I should have included it as part of the project in the first place. Despite that, it was a simple experiment that I wanted to try out for myself. I suppose investigating the difference of fabrics reacting differently to dyes is to some extent, a form of development and help for a final solution.


SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page