top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Technique Exploration

Recently, I have dedicated time towards testing the various methods that portray patterns and textures. One technique that I surprisingly enjoyed was lino printing that I attempted yesterday afternoon. It's even forced me to adjust my early inadequate ideas for a final solution; it might just have to be somewhat incorporated, I loved it that much!

With the cut-out lino (which was of a shape extracted from lichen) I produced yesterday, I plan to creatively manipulate more complex patterns to convey the intricacy of lichen. Printing onto calico turned out to be the most successful sample, the ink printed boldly onto the material while showing a luminous finish. I paired this sample with a gorgeously deep green to couple with what I originally printed. Unfortunately, there is no photo of the finished sample as it was left on my desk yesterday.

3D Shibori was another technique that I looked into last week. If the structures of the fabric were more compact, the samples successfully would have portrayed one element of lichen. This is another technique that I am most certain to use for the exhibition piece.

While these technique explorations are a step forward, I am still aware that samples exhibiting my selected natural forms are yet to be created. There are a small portion of samples that do reflect these objects, however I feel the need to broaden the experimentation. It will give me more ideas to review so I have a wider imagination for ideas.


SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page