top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Sketchbook Tour So Far

The opening artist page of the total of seven is Diane Rogers. She produced quilted textile pieces that represent the forms of lichen. My fast attempt at this is shown below, whereby polyester filling was trapped between two layers of cotton fabric. Applying fabric spray paint to incorporate some colour was a quick solution and sort of acted as a background template for the embroidered stitching rather than to portray the coloured sections found within Roger's quilts. The layering of coloured stitches ended up braking two of my sewing machine needles which is why I eventually stopped myself from continuing. While this was just a sample, I could imagine the visual success after the completion of the coloured embroidery. The development of the embroidery would likely allow it to appear more realistic, presenting the intricacy and detail of the much complicated shapes. Having the artist's work above my sample really exhibits the awful comparison to mine.

Golden Lichen

The page beside this is the contextual information; expressing my own thoughts and concepts towards her quilts.

Following this, is the double page spread of Rae Woolnough with her fabulous felt creations that didn't seem to reveal any information besides the materials used as well as their titles for each textile piece. I have been wanting to develop this page with additional embroidery and attaching more of the polyester material and buttons to represent the softness of the felt and the odd cluster of clumps.

Next, reveals a double page spread of Marian Jazmik. A textile artist who creates textures inspired by her nature walks in Lancashire. Lichen dominates most of her work with their insanely intriguing forms. I was mostly drawn to how Jazmik used a glue gun to portray the circular/flakey structures. This was a medium I wanted to use in the sample piece, unfortunately I didn't have one.

These two artist pages remain as incomplete since I am still working on their visual responses. Julie Shackson's page doesn't even seem to have a title yet and more written information needs to be included.

Okano's page still needs a visual response as well, but other than that, fully complete and pleased with.

This one, I am very unsure about. The smock was so time consuming, so I ended up abandoning it and just fully coating it in blue dye. To improve, I definitely would dedicate more time to the smock and really reflect the overuse of the intense structures of the smock design within the fabric.

A rather large close-up of the visual response to Hanne Friis.


SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page