top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Mastering the knit stitch!

On Good Friday, I took a trip to Milton Keynes to enter the world of Hobbycraft. As you can imagine, I was in dreamland. I've been meaning to get myself back into knitting for a good while now so I invested in some good quality yarn for the sake of it.

Before this investment, I was desperately craving to revisit knitting after all these absent years. So, I rummaged through old bins that were stored in my room and realised a couple of balls of yarn that I wasn't aware was even in existence.

Below is an extraordinarily poor quality photo of my very first sample of a moss stitch with the yarn I found. This stitch is achieved with a combination of knit and purl stitches, following a consistent and repetitive pattern that produces a sort of cross hatch surface.

The sample was attained from following the knit stitch pattern:

Rows 1 and 4: K1, * p1, k1; rep from * to end of row.

Rows 2 and 3: P1,* k1, p1; rep from * to end of row.

Credits to this website.

Following this, I attempted the basket weave knit stitch using the cream yarn I purchased from hobbycraft. This yarn was pure heaven to manipulate with and I am tempted to see how it would react to dye or even stitch into on my sewing machine as further development!

The knit stitch pattern follows:

Cast On in Multiples of 6

Row 1: Knit

Row 2: Purl

Row 3: * K1, P4, K1 *

Row 4: * P1, K4, P1 *

Row 5: * K1, P4, K1 *

Row 6: * P1, K4, P1 *

Row 7: Knit

Row 8: Purl

Row 9: * P2, K2, P2 *

Row 10: * K2, P2, K2 *

Row 11: * P2, K2, P2 *

Row 12: * K2, P2, K2 *

Repeat Rows 1 – 12 until your piece is the length you desire.

Credits to this website.

The Diamond Brocade has a gorgeous pattern and a lovely texture too!

The pattern is as follows:

Row 1: (Right side) Knit 4, *purl 1, k 7; repeat from * until 5 stitches remain, purl 1, knit 4

Rows 2 and 8: (Wrong side) Purl 3, *k 1, purl 1, knit 1, purl 5; repeat from * until 6 stitches remain, knit 1, p1, k1, purl 3

Rows 3 and 7: K 2, *purl 1, knit 3; repeat from * until 3 stitches remain, p 1, knit 2

Rows 4 and 6: Purl 1, *knit 1, p 5, knit 1, purl 1; repeat from * to end.

Row 5: *Purl 1, knit 7; repeat from * until 1 stitch remains, purl 1.

Row 8: Purl 3, *knit 1, p 1, knit 1, purl 5; repeat from * until 6 stitches remain, k 1, purl 1, knit 1, purl 3.

Repeat rows 1 - 8 for this diamond stitch pattern.

Credits to this website.

Additional appliances to this sample may enhance its texture and visual qualities of the knit stitches such as the prominent cross effect but a part of me likes the simplicity. It's somewhat pleasing to see the construction of the stitches.


SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page