top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

The Plastic problem


With the project based on the Plastic problem, my sketchbook introduces my thoughts towards consumerism and why I feel that this in particular contributes immensely towards the issues of plastic. The page isn't exactly visual in anyway so in hopes of building a more exciting appearance, I harshly painted the newspaper background for a faint look and then selected a vibrant green to promote a friendly environment, typically around recycling. This page mainly opens up to only just a few concerns around the subject; more so covering my own perception and the way I look at it. (Also, don't ask about the pink sketchbook. I hate it too, it was purchased off of Amazon in the colour Black specifically but I then somehow received a pink one instead.) >:-(

The following page consists of a collage of chocolate wrappers from Christmas. When thinking of plastic waste, I immediately think of crisp packets and chocolate especially. It's so irritating! I purchase a bag of crisps to expect a sufficient amount in there for what I actually pay for originally. Yet, the bag is half full of air and just about ten are really in the bag. The same goes for chocolate wrappers, you get one small chocolate and then there's an excessive amount of plastic wrapping. Is it really necessary?

So with that said, I began collecting these wrappers; it didn't take me long ;-). I don't eat a lot of crisps but I do like my chocolate and so I just about managed to squeeze all the wrappers into an A4 page through stitching. The white thread running through the surface of the plastic wrappers sort of breaks each of them apart into smaller fragments that suggest that they need to be completely banished due to the harm that they cause.

My artist research is coming along fantastically, in fact, I have never felt so inspired and intrigued by artists work before until now. Carolyn Saxby had the brilliant idea of using bubble wrap as a tool; conveying that plastic is more useful than we think. She painted the surface of the bubble wrap and then printed it onto paper; I did so myself and I absolutely loved the outcome.


SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page