top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

What am I really doing?

Approaching towards the end of a project is always such a relief. The growth of work produced over the few weeks was likely well worth the time, but does it all support the final outcome? Will it associate with the theme of the project? And does it meet the fundamental requirements? It's always best to revisit the work produced so far to examine whether all of those questions will answer with a yes.

Having a very broad topic is indeed a good chance to express you as an artist, however there must always be a concept put towards your own piece as well as strong development explaining how the piece came in mind in the first place. Usually, this has not been much of a problem for me based on my previous projects. Yet, this time I'm doubting every part of myself. Right now, I'm in a position where I do not know what to do for a final outcome. Ok, I do have a few ideas in mind but will everyone else appreciate my proposal? Although I have put a slightly complex concept behind it, will others understand my approach? And most importantly, how am I going to present development work when I only have a small number of samples due to a sudden change of mind? It's all now really hitting me and I am rapidly feeling very disorganized, very unlike me.

My change of plan has been dramatic with originally it being print-making and now transforming into the technique of fabric smocking. So far, I have been able to create a few smocking samples from the past week alone. I have experimented with various forms of smocking and I'm pleased with their outcomes. Regardless of making a mistake, I find that manipulating fabric still forms fantastic visual texture.

You would never believe that this smocking below was an honest mistake of mine! It's a true disaster of the lotus flower technique yet it still looks very pleasing.

Another muck up of the shell smocking, you can definitely see it's structure and form as well as how the pattern follows into one direction. It was a success for a first attempt.

The following technique was ridiculously new to me and I enjoyed learning how to do it. Trapunto is a quilting process whereby a raised surface is formed from the layer of batting underneath. I found that Trapunto would be a good suggestion towards a final piece as the raised surfaces produces a firm form and thus is isolated from the flat surface of fabric surround it.


SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page