top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Printmaking research (3 Artists)

Double A3 page of research towards Paul's use of wood graving. The first page consists of my personal response to one of his engraved pieces as well as an illustration of his piece presented below. I then further researched into the technique he uses, wood engraving and felt inspired to try it out after taking a closer look at his two outcomes illustrated on the pages. To effectively form a creatively visual page, I experimented with masking tape and water colour to produce a background which I feel associates well with the theme of wood engraving. After, I began to analyse Paul's Boredom piece and commented my own response to the work. Moreover, I looked into the technique he uses in order to form the pieces demonstrated on the pages. I felt extremely inspired to try out this technique (wood engraving) as I believe it could enable me to produce various and complex patterns due to the fine detail that this technique captures.

For me, these two pages are still within the developing process. I still have yet to continue responding to the other piece.

In addition, I researched another artist that uses a different printmaking technique. Frank Stella worked with screen printing to form the piece presented on the far left. I was already quite familiar with this printing technique as I have been through the process once before. Again, I applied water colours that would act as a border around the page. The selected colours relate to the use of colour within the piece I was analysing and they sort of blend within each other. To emphasize the piece further, I repeated the design used within the work across various parts of the page. For instance, cut out paper was used as a border to support the image itself (this is also demonstrated around the screen printing diagram at the bottom). As well as paper, acrylic paint was also used to produce my own version of Stella's piece to which I feel uses some successful compositions of the shapes.

As for the diagram below, I certainly could have drawn it out myself and creatively present it rather than printing it out. In fact, now looking back, I can't think of a good reason why I didn't consider doing this in the first place.

Along with my response to the work within the annotation, I also note down what screen printing actually is and the process used in order to produce a successful print.

For the final artist, I have only just gotten round to selecting which artist I am going to research about as well as managing to print out Damien's two print pieces which I absolutely adored. I still have yet to write up my response to the pieces as well as explaining what technique he uses.


SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page